top of page

Food Chain / Food webs

The following image represent a task we carried out in class. We looked at eco-system and how energy is passed on from eating animals as well as how food chains are formed. We saw a real life example from owl pellets. These are vomited by the animal and consists of balls of fur with bones and indigested piece of animals all stuck together. By analysing these, we could see how the diet of certain owls was, in my exact pellet I found a vole. I deduced it was a vole to its skull's shape and I compared it to a guide which helped us identify the animals. Interestingly enough, my vole was mistaken for a small rabbit at first due to the size of its head and we alter on found out it was pregnant as we found tiny bones as well.

We also discussed the process by which this owl pellet would then become food for other organisms, detrivores, who would eat these waste products fo energy.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page